Does Medicare cover Zepbound?

Not for weight loss on its own. Medicare Part D can pay for Zepbound when it is prescribed for an indication Part D recognises, and separately the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge sets a $50 monthly copayment for the KwikPen until the end of 2027.

Two separate things decide whether Medicare gets you anywhere: what the programme pays for, and whether the company you pick takes members of a government plan at all. Neither settles the other, so both are below.

When does Medicare Part D pay for Zepbound?

Obstructive sleep apnea is Zepbound's way in. CMS names moderate to severe OSA among the indications Part D recognises, and it is the one on that list Zepbound is approved to treat — so a prescription written for sleep apnea is a coverable prescription, and one written for weight is not. The rest of the recognised list, type 2 diabetes and noncirrhotic MASH with moderate to advanced liver scarring, does not apply here.

Does the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge cover Zepbound?

Yes, but only in one form. The Bridge sets a $50 monthly copayment on the Zepbound KwikPen and not on the single-dose vials, which is the distinction to check before filling anything: the same drug in the other container is not covered by it. It runs from July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027, sits outside the Part D benefit's coverage and payment flow, and anyone who received a GLP-1 through Part D during 2026 is ineligible for it.

Checked by hand on September 21, 2026 against CMS on Part D coverage, CMS on the GLP-1 Bridge and Medicare on weight loss drugs. Unlike the provider figures below, nothing re-reads those pages for us, so treat the three links as the authority and this summary as of its date.

Which providers can you use on a government plan?

Only the companies we track that sell Zepbound. None of them says in writing that members of those plans may not use it. An unanswered question is not a no.

Two questions, answered separately, because one does not imply the other. “Not stated” means the provider publishes no answer we could read and date — it is not a no, and we do not fill it in by inference.
ProviderCan you use it on Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE?Can insurance pay for the medication?
LillyDirect
Yes — not excludedSource October 26, 2026
YesSource October 26, 2026
Maximus
Not stated
NoSource September 30, 2026
Pallas Health
Not stated
NoSource October 8, 2026
Fridays
Not stated
NoSource October 26, 2026
Hims & Hers
Not stated
NoSource October 26, 2026
Ro
Not stated
YesSource October 6, 2026
Sesame CareVerified partner
Not stated
YesSource October 25, 2026

Not sure which of them will take you?

Five questions on budget, medication and state, answered on your device, with how you pay already stored. We match you against the same verified prices and terms this page shows.

Take the 1-min quiz

What Zepbound costs when Medicare will not pay

Cash prices that include the medication, cheapest first. Every figure was read from the provider’s own page on the date beside it.

Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you sign up with a provider through one of them, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. This never affects how we rank providers — our scores are calculated from published criteria. See our methodology and how we make money.

Every provider’s insurance answer, and what Medicare covers across all GLP-1s · provider answers last read October 26, 2026