Hims & Hers

A large telehealth company selling weight-loss treatment on a membership, with medication billed on top, and the worst regulatory record of any provider we track.

FDA-approved brands
What to watch out for

The $149/mo membership is charged on top of the medication, not instead of it — Hims states that membership "does not include or guarantee a prescription" and that medication is not available without it. Every medication figure on the site is a "from" price. GLP-1s are not available in all states, and Hims does not publish which.

3 FDA or FTC actions name Hims & Hers. Read the safety checks.

Worth knowing

  • 3 FDA or FTC actions name this provider. The safety checks below set out what they say.
  • The advertised $39 buys the first month only; Weight Loss Membership is $149 a month after that.Source · read September 21, 2026
  • An active Hims Weight Loss Membership is required to access medication.Source · read September 18, 2026
  • The Hims Weight Loss Membership automatically renews each month at $149 after the first month at $39.Source · read September 20, 2026

Plans and prices

Membership only — medication costs extra

These figures buy clinician access. The medication is billed separately and is not included, so they cannot be compared against the prices above.

Weight Loss Membership$149/mo
Checked September 21, 2026SourceReviewed by an editor July 30, 2026

Summarize this review with

The prompt is copied to your clipboard too.

Where it treats patients

Hims & Hers treats patients in all 50 states. Its page does not say whether it covers Washington DC.

AvailableNot stated

Source · read September 21, 2026

See who treats patients in your state

Who pays for the medication

Can insurance pay for it?

No. You pay Hims & Hers directly for the medication.

Currently, we are unable to accept insurance due to specific requirements that must be met for reimbursement. However, we are delighted to offer our products at a substantially reduced cost, with discounts ranging from 50% to 80% off retail prices. This pricing structure allows our products to remain affordable and easily accessible to consumers. We are pleased to announce that our Weight Loss treatment options are now eligible for FSA and HSA reimbursement.

Source · quoted September 20, 2026

Medicare, Medicaid and TRICARE

Hims & Hers does not say whether members of those plans may use it.

Compare who bills insurance, and who excludes Medicare and Medicaid

What you actually pay

Hims charges $149 a month for membership, with a first month at $39. Medication is billed on top of that, not included in it, so the membership figure is the floor of what you pay rather than the price of treatment.

That structure is not unusual. What makes it worth stating plainly here is that the advertised number is the smallest one you will see.

Three regulators have written about this company

No other provider we track carries this much on record, and all of it is recent.

In September 2025 the FDA wrote twice to Hims & Hers Health, Inc. — once about the Hims brand and once about Hers — alleging the unlawful sale of unapproved and misbranded drugs to US consumers over the internet.

In July 2026 the FTC, with several states, filed a complaint in federal court. It alleges that the company shared consumers' sensitive health information with Meta, Snap and other third parties while promising to protect it; that it enrolled people in recurring subscriptions without genuine provider consultations; and that it made cancelling deliberately difficult through hidden buttons and multi-step processes.

A warning letter is an agency stating its case and a complaint contains allegations that have not been proved in court. Both are on the safety-checks section of this page with links to the documents, so you can read them rather than take our summary for it.

What its customers say

Hims & Hers holds a TrustScore of 2.9 out of 5 on Trustpilot, across more than nine thousand reviews. That is the lowest score of any provider on this site, and it rests on the largest number of reviews, which makes it harder to dismiss as a handful of bad days.

A score covers a whole company rather than its GLP-1 service, and says nothing about clinical results. Read recent reviews about the treatment you are considering.

Get the cancellation terms in writing before you subscribe

The FTC's complaint is partly about how hard this company makes cancelling. Before subscribing, ask for the cancellation process in writing, and ask what it says about the membership fee separately from the medication. The membership is the charge that recurs, and it does not guarantee a prescription.

Cancellation and refunds

Automatic renewal

  • The Hims Weight Loss Membership automatically renews each month at $149 after the first month at $39.

    An active Hims Weight Loss Membership is required ($39 for the first month, auto-renews at $149/month thereafter).

    Source · quoted September 20, 2026

  • The membership automatically renews each month after the first month.

    $39 for the first month, auto-renews at $149/month thereafter

    Source · quoted September 18, 2026

Prepaid commitments

  • An active Hims Weight Loss Membership is required to access medication.

    An active Hims Weight Loss Membership is required ($39 for the first month, auto-renews at $149/month thereafter). Membership is billed separately and does not include or guarantee a prescription. Medication is not available without a membership.

    Source · quoted September 18, 2026

Safety checks

FDA and FTC actions

  • FTC complaint, July 29, 2026Open: allegations, not findings

    On 29 July 2026 the FTC and several states filed a complaint in federal court alleging that Hims & Hers shared consumers' sensitive health information with Meta, Snap and other third parties while promising to protect it, enrolled people in recurring subscriptions without genuine provider consultations, and made cancelling deliberately difficult. A complaint contains allegations that have not been proved in court.

    Read the FTC document
  • FDA warning letter, September 9, 2025Open: allegations, not findings

    The FDA wrote to Hims & Hers Health, Inc. on 9 September 2025 about its Hers brand, alleging the unlawful sale of unapproved and misbranded drugs to US consumers over the internet. A warning letter sets out what the agency alleges; it is not a court finding.

    Read the FDA document
  • FDA warning letter, September 9, 2025Open: allegations, not findings

    The FDA wrote to Hims & Hers Health, Inc. on 9 September 2025 about its Hims brand, alleging the unlawful sale of unapproved and misbranded drugs to US consumers over the internet. A warning letter sets out what the agency alleges; it is not a court finding.

    Read the FDA document
Medication
FDA-approved brand-name drugs only.
LegitScript
Not checked
Where it's available

Hims & Hers is available in all 50 states, though specific treatments may be limited to certain states. Source, September 20, 2026

Hims & Hers is available in all 50 states. Source, September 20, 2026

Operator
Hims & Hers Health, Inc.

Customer reviews

TrustScore 2.9 out of 5 · 9,284 reviews on Trustpilot · checked September 15, 2026

The rating covers Hims & Hers’s whole service rather than GLP-1 treatment alone, and it says nothing about clinical results. Recent reviews about the treatment you are considering tell you more than the average.

Read Hims & Hers’s reviews on Trustpilot

Coverage and care

Brand medications
Yes
Compounded medications
No
Oral options
Yes
Video visit required
not stated

Common questions

Further reading

Alternatives

Sources

Every figure on this page was read from Hims & Hers’s own website on the date shown. We do not take prices from other comparison sites.