Does Medicare cover Ozempic?
Often, and for a reason the other GLP-1s do not share: Ozempic is approved to treat type 2 diabetes, which Part D recognises, so a prescription written for diabetes is the ordinary case rather than the exception. Prescribed for weight, it is the case Part D excludes — and the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge does not include Ozempic at all.
Two separate things decide whether Medicare gets you anywhere: what the programme pays for, and whether the company you pick takes members of a government plan at all. Neither settles the other, so both are below.
When does Medicare Part D pay for Ozempic?
Type 2 diabetes sits first on the list of indications CMS tells Part D plans it recognises, and it is what Ozempic is approved to treat — which makes Ozempic the one GLP-1 here whose ordinary use is already a covered use. Nothing special has to be argued. What decides your case is what the prescriber wrote it for: weight alone is the exclusion, and the drug being the same one does not change that.
Does the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge cover Ozempic?
No. The Bridge names three products — Foundayo, Wegovy and Zepbound — and Ozempic is not among them, so none of its $50 copayment applies here. That matters less for Ozempic than it would for the others, because the ordinary Part D route above is open to it and the Bridge exists largely for drugs where it is not.
Checked by hand on September 21, 2026 against CMS on Part D coverage, CMS on the GLP-1 Bridge and Medicare on weight loss drugs. Unlike the provider figures below, nothing re-reads those pages for us, so treat the three links as the authority and this summary as of its date.
Which providers can you use on a government plan?
Only the companies we track that sell Ozempic. None of them says in writing that members of those plans may not use it. An unanswered question is not a no.
| Provider | Can you use it on Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE? | Can insurance pay for the medication? |
|---|---|---|
Yes — not excludedSource October 16, 2026 | NoSource October 26, 2026 | |
Not stated | NoSource September 30, 2026 | |
Not stated | NoSource October 8, 2026 | |
GalaVerified partner | Not stated | NoSource October 17, 2026 |
Not stated | NoSource October 26, 2026 | |
Sesame CareVerified partner | Not stated | YesSource October 25, 2026 |
Not sure which of them will take you?
Five questions on budget, medication and state, answered on your device, with how you pay already stored. We match you against the same verified prices and terms this page shows.
What Ozempic costs when Medicare will not pay
Cash prices that include the medication, cheapest first. Every figure was read from the provider’s own page on the date beside it.
Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you sign up with a provider through one of them, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. This never affects how we rank providers — our scores are calculated from published criteria. See our methodology and how we make money.
- 1
NovoCare Pharmacy (Wegovy self-pay)Ozempic® - 0.25 mg or 0.5 mg doses, 1 pen
Checked October 26, 2026Read our review$349/mo
medication included, from
- Read our review
$449.99/mo
medication included, from
$1,299/mo
medication included, from
$349/mo
medication only, from
+ membership
Every provider’s insurance answer, and what Medicare covers across all GLP-1s · provider answers last read October 26, 2026




