Does Medicare cover Mounjaro?

It depends on what the prescription treats. Medicare Part D pays for a GLP-1 where it treats an indication Part D recognises, and type 2 diabetes is first on that list; written for weight alone it is the case Part D excludes. The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge does not include Mounjaro.

Two separate things decide whether Medicare gets you anywhere: what the programme pays for, and whether the company you pick takes members of a government plan at all. Neither settles the other, so both are below.

When does Medicare Part D pay for Mounjaro?

Mounjaro is approved for type 2 diabetes, which is first on the list of indications CMS tells Part D plans it recognises — so like Ozempic, its ordinary use is already a covered use, and the question is what the prescription was written to treat rather than which drug it is. Written for weight alone, it falls into the exclusion Part D applies to every GLP-1 on the list.

Does the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge cover Mounjaro?

No. The Bridge's $50 copayment covers Foundayo, Wegovy and Zepbound only, and Mounjaro is absent from that list even though its molecule, tirzepatide, is on it as Zepbound. The brand on the box decides it, not the molecule inside — so for Mounjaro the route is ordinary Part D coverage on a recognised indication.

Checked by hand on September 21, 2026 against CMS on Part D coverage, CMS on the GLP-1 Bridge and Medicare on weight loss drugs. Unlike the provider figures below, nothing re-reads those pages for us, so treat the three links as the authority and this summary as of its date.

Which providers can you use on a government plan?

Only the companies we track that sell Mounjaro. None of them says in writing that members of those plans may not use it. An unanswered question is not a no.

Two questions, answered separately, because one does not imply the other. “Not stated” means the provider publishes no answer we could read and date — it is not a no, and we do not fill it in by inference.
ProviderCan you use it on Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE?Can insurance pay for the medication?
Pallas Health
Not stated
NoSource October 8, 2026
Maximus
Not stated
NoSource September 30, 2026
Hims & Hers
Not stated
NoSource October 26, 2026

Not sure which of them will take you?

Five questions on budget, medication and state, answered on your device, with how you pay already stored. We match you against the same verified prices and terms this page shows.

Take the 1-min quiz

What Mounjaro costs when Medicare will not pay

Cash prices that include the medication, cheapest first. Every figure was read from the provider’s own page on the date beside it.

Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you sign up with a provider through one of them, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. This never affects how we rank providers — our scores are calculated from published criteria. See our methodology and how we make money.

Every provider’s insurance answer, and what Medicare covers across all GLP-1s · provider answers last read October 26, 2026