Does Medicare cover Wegovy?
Not for weight loss on its own. Medicare Part D can pay for Wegovy where it is prescribed to reduce cardiovascular risk rather than for weight, and separately the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge sets a $50 monthly copayment for it until the end of 2027.
Two separate things decide whether Medicare gets you anywhere: what the programme pays for, and whether the company you pick takes members of a government plan at all. Neither settles the other, so both are below.
When does Medicare Part D pay for Wegovy?
Wegovy is the only GLP-1 CMS names by product rather than by molecule. Its entry on the recognised list is reducing the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events in adults with established cardiovascular disease who also have obesity or overweight — a cardiology indication, not a weight one. A prescription written for cardiovascular risk is therefore coverable where the same drug written for weight is the case Part D excludes.
Does the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge cover Wegovy?
Yes, in either form. The Bridge covers Wegovy as the injection and as the tablet, at a $50 monthly copayment, which is the widest coverage it gives any of the three products on it. It runs from July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027, sits outside the Part D benefit's coverage and payment flow, and anyone who received a GLP-1 through Part D during 2026 is ineligible for it.
Checked by hand on September 21, 2026 against CMS on Part D coverage, CMS on the GLP-1 Bridge and Medicare on weight loss drugs. Unlike the provider figures below, nothing re-reads those pages for us, so treat the three links as the authority and this summary as of its date.
Which providers can you use on a government plan?
Only the companies we track that sell Wegovy. None of them says in writing that members of those plans may not use it. An unanswered question is not a no.
| Provider | Can you use it on Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE? | Can insurance pay for the medication? |
|---|---|---|
Yes — not excludedSource October 16, 2026 | NoSource October 26, 2026 | |
Not stated | NoSource September 30, 2026 | |
Not stated | NoSource October 8, 2026 | |
Not stated | YesSource October 6, 2026 | |
Sesame CareVerified partner | Not stated | YesSource October 25, 2026 |
Not sure which of them will take you?
Five questions on budget, medication and state, answered on your device, with how you pay already stored. We match you against the same verified prices and terms this page shows.
What Wegovy costs when Medicare will not pay
Cash prices that include the medication, cheapest first. Every figure was read from the provider’s own page on the date beside it.
Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you sign up with a provider through one of them, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. This never affects how we rank providers — our scores are calculated from published criteria. See our methodology and how we make money.
- Read our review
$349/mo
medication included, from
- Read our review
$449.99/mo
medication included, from
- Read our review
$199/mo
medication only, from
+ membership $349/mo
medication only, from
+ membership
Every provider’s insurance answer, and what Medicare covers across all GLP-1s · provider answers last read October 25, 2026




